Monday, March 04, 2024
Text Size

The Book of Enoch, Index

The Book of Enoch


First Enoch may be divided into the following five major sections:

1. The Book of the Watchers (chs. 136). Enoch is a righteous man who has received heavenly visions. The book is a collection of revelations regarding divine judgment. It describes the rebellion of angels. The fallen angels, called "Watchers," have sexual intercourse with human women, who give birth to a race of wicked giants. The giants lay waste to the earth and humanity, and so become the occasion for the flood, in which they are destroyed. But once their demonic spirits are released from their dead bodies, these demons wreak havoc in the world until the end time of judgment.

2. The Book of the Similitudes (or Parables; chs. 3771). Enoch again receives heavenly visions, which are interpreted by angels. The primary character of these revelations is the "son of man." Other titles employed to name this messiah figure are the Chosen One (the most common title), Gods Anointed One, and the Righteous One. This heavenly being is Gods agent for the final judgment and vindication of the righteous.

3. The Book of Astronomical Writings (or Heavenly Luminaries, chs. 7282). Visions of heavenly and earthly occurrences advocate a 364-day solar calendar, as opposed to the controversial lunar calendar. Enoch describes to his son Methuselah his journey through the stars above the earth, guided by the angel Uriel.

4. The Book of Dream Visions (or Animal Apocalypse, chs. 8390). Enoch recounts two visions to Methuselah. The first vision is of the sky falling and the earth undergoing cataclysmic disasters as a result. The second vision takes the form of an apocalyptic allegory describing the historyof humanity from the creation of Adam to the final judgment. In it, humans are represented as animals and angels are represented as human beings. The apocalypse details the relationship of Jews with Gentiles and the end-time judgment.

5. The Book of the Epistle of Enoch (chs. 91107). This epistle is written by Enoch for later generations. Righteousness and wickedness are contrasted throughout the letter in order to show that goodness and truth will be rewarded by God, but evil and sin will be punished by God. This sober eschatological prophecy admonishes readers about the final divine judgment.

Title: Also called the Ethiopic Apocalypse of Enoch


Attempts to explain some enigmatic passages from the book of Genesis

Influenced by the canonical books of Ezekiel, Jeremiah, and Daniel

Canonical Status: Old Testament Pseudepigrapha

Author: Anonymous Jews

Date: 250 BC AD 50

The five books within First Enoch were apparently written at different times by different authors.

Their probable chronological order from earliest to latest is: 3 1 4 5 2.

Original Language:

Though written originally in either Aramaic or Hebrew, this book is fully extant only in ancient Ethiopic (Geez) translation.

Fragments exist in Latin, Greek, and Aramaic

Some fragments have recently been identified among the Dead Sea Scrolls.

The Book of Enoch readed in 27 parts. See this video about the Book of Enoch :


Keep this website alive, a Donation will be highly appreciated

Please consider a donation supporting our efforts.


United States 70.8%United States
Serbia And Montenegro 7.7%Serbia And Montenegro
Canada 6.9%Canada
Germany 2%Germany
United Kingdom 1.8%United Kingdom
Netherlands 1.3%Netherlands
Australia 1.3%Australia
Romania 0.7%Romania
China 0.4%China
Sweden 0.3%Sweden

Today: 14
Yesterday: 14
This Week: 14
Last Week: 79
This Month: 52
Last Month: 702
Total: 457954

Please report broken links to the This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This is copyrighted information presented under the Fair Use Doctrine of the United States Copyright Act (section 107 of title 17) which states: 'the fair use of a copyrighted work...for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright.' In practice the courts have decided that anything which does not financially harm the copyright holder is fair use

 This is a Non-Commercial Web page, © 1998-2011 L.C.Geerts The Netherlands all rights reserved.

It is strictly forbidden to publish or copy anything of my book without permission of the author, permission is granted for the recourses, for personal use only.

Privacy Statement